Commander: When the hero is activated pick one friendly non-commander unit within 6” that has no models with Tough(6) or more, and roll one die to give it orders. On a 4+ the unit and all friendly units within 6” may immediately be activated, even if they had been activated already this round.
if a unit *hasn't* been activated this round, can it activate again on it's own turn?
or can you only get two activation per round for a unit if it activates before the Commander unit, and then again with commander special rule?
more specifically, I'm building a hero with Battle Drills and Commander special rules. ideally, I could activate the hero unit, buff the nearby unit with +1 to hit, and if i make the roll, have the nearby unit shoot with the +1 to Hit. then, activate the nearby unit on it's own turn, retaining the +1 to hit buff.
as written, it seems to get 2 activation, i'd have to activate the nearby unit w/ no buffs, then activate the hero to grant the buff and potentially get a second activation of the nearby unit with the buff (assuming the commander ability roll is successful)
also just now realizing that it's unclear if the Battle Drills buffs last one round, until the hero activates again, or whole game?
The unit can do it's regular activation once, and then any additional amount of Commander activations (in case you have multiple Commander units).
How are you creating a hero with both Battle Drills and Commander? Did I miss something there? Anyway, I see that there needs to be some clarification as to how long the buffs last, because it should be only for the next time the unit activates.
So for example you could activate your Drill Sergeant, give everyone within 12" the special rule, then activate all units to benefit from Battle Drills, then activate the Commander last and on a 4+ activate the Drill Sergeant again, then give everyone within 12" another buff, and finally activate all models within 6" again thanks to the Commander Rule.
I'm building the hero using the point calculator (should I have moved thread to tier 3 board?)
thanks for the clarification on battle drills, "only for the next time the unit activates" makes sense. to clarify, based on the rules for the commander effect, and what you wrote above, you can only get 2 activation out of a unit if it first activates before the commander, and then is activated by the commandeer. can't do it the other way around.
but yeah if done as you've described, it's gonna be brutal!