This question applies to both Grimdark Future and Grimdark Future: Firefight.
Are Psychics allowed to both use a Psychic spell AND Shoot/Charge?
E.g. are there restrictions on when the spell can be cast? Part of what prompted this question is that the Psychic rule states that the X dice for the Psychic(X) special rule are rolled, when the unit activates. Could I choose to activate a Psychic, roll my Psychic dice, cast a spell, then charge into melee? Or activate a Psychic, roll my Psychic dice, cast a spell, then shoot my gun? Or shoot, then cast my spell?
Assuming that a Psychic can do other things, like move and shoot and charge, in the same round as casting a spell, then the question becomes, Do spells have to be cast at the beginning of a Psychic's activation?
Now that spells can only be dispelled by the opponent's Psychic, and only if they are within 18", I could see a potential benefit to moving out of that 18" range and then casting a different spell than if I had to cast a spell before moving.
I like my tea, as I like my nights: dark, endless, and impossible through which to sleep.